Mt. Blue Regional School District Board of Directors

Minutes

DATE: December 15, 2020

Place: Zoom Time: 6:30pm

Meeting video: https://vimeo.com/491652155

In attendance: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Whitney Fraser

Also present: Keith Acedo, Nancy Allen, Cynthia Bernstein, James Black, Chad Brackett, Jeff Brazee, Laura Columbia, Todd Demmons, Katie Duchesne, Nichole Goodspeed, William Greenlaw, Andy Hutchins, John Jones, Richard Joseph, Kris Pottle, Monique Poulin, Lisa Sinclair, Joel Smith, Melissa Williams, Tracy Williams

- I. Call to Order at 6:33pm
- II. Pledge
- III. Public Comment
 - A. None
- IV. Executive session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A §405(6)(A) Discussion or consideration of the employment, appointment, assignment, duties, promotion, demotion, compensation, evaluation, disciplining, resignation or dismissal of an individual or group of public officials, appointees or employees of the body or agency

Motion to enter executive session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A §405(6)(A) Discussion or consideration of the employment, appointment, assignment, duties, promotion, demotion, compensation, evaluation, disciplining, resignation or dismissal of an individual or group of public officials, appointees or employees of the body or agency

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Nays: 0

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (972:0:0)

Motion: Jesse Sillanpaa Seconded: Debbie Smith Motion: Passed

Time entered: 6:38pm

Time exited: 6:53pm

V. New Business

Statement by Superintendent Tina Meserve - Review of procedures in policy regarding hiring an administrator, and compliance with policy regarding the proposed internal candidates.

MBHS Assistant Principal is currently underway and a candidate will be coming to the board at the next meeting.

Motion to approve teacher new hire candidates as presented by Superintendent Meserve *Derek Ginn - Special Education Teacher, MBMS *Sarah Kaiser - Special Education Teacher, Resource Room at Mallett School Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris,
Cherieann Harrison, J.
Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin,
Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil,
Josh Robbins, Jesse
Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith,
Craig Stickney,

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (972:0:0)

Motion: Jeff Harris Seconded: Craig Stickney

Motion: Passed

Motion to hire Monique Poulin as the interim superintendent for the rest of the 2020-21 school year Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney,

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (972:0:0)

Motion: Jeff Harris Seconded: Debbie Smith Motion: Passed

Statement by Angela LeClair - Upon consideration of the Superintendent's recommendation for staffing changes at Mt. Blue High School for the remainder of the 2020-2021 school year, the Board approves of the Superintendent's recommendation. The Board further finds that, due to the limited time to conduct a robust hiring process, and the need to have building leaders in place during the pandemic, there are special circumstances that warrant the departure from our general policy on recruiting and hiring administrative staff. The Board further finds that the candidate recommended by the Superintendent is a current employee, that they are qualified for the administrator position, and that the placement of the proposed candidate in the administrator position would not detract from the purpose of the Board's policy of hiring well-qualified candidates in a non-discriminatory manner.

Motion that the
Superintendent be and
hereby is authorized to
negotiate a side letter with the
administrator's union and Joel
Smith to serve as principal of
Mt. Blue High School for the
rest of the 2020-2021 school
year with an additional
stipend to cover his enhanced
responsibilities.

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris,
Cherieann Harrison, J.
Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin,
Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil,
Josh Robbins, Jesse
Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith,
Craig Stickney,

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (972:0:0)

Motion: Angela LeClair Seconded: Cherieann

Harrison

Motion: Passed

VI. Adjourn without objection

Motion to adjourn without objection	Yeas: Nays: Abstained: Vote:	Motion: Angie LeClair Seconded: Motion: Passed without objection
		0.0,000

Adjourned: 7:05 pm

NEXT SCHEDULED MEETINGS

Jan. 12, 2021 - 6:30pm - Location TBD Jan. 26, 2021 - 6:30pm - Location TBD

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

Operations - Jan. 5, 2021 - 5:00pm - Location TBD Personnel & Finance - Jan. 5, 2021 - 6:00pm - Location TBD Educational Policy - Jan. 5, 2021 - 7:00pm - Location TBD