Mt. Blue Regional School District Board of Directors

Minutes

DATE: December 8, 2020

Place: Zoom Time: 6:30pm

Meeting Video: https://vimeo.com/488929725

In attendance: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Chericann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Whitney Fraser

Also present: Keith Acedo, Nancy Allen, Cynthia Bernstein, James Black, Chad Brackett, Jeff Brazee, Laura Columbia, Todd Demmons, Katie Duchesne, Nichole Goodspeed, William Greenlaw, Andy Hutchins, John Jones, Richard Joseph, Kris Pottle, Monique Poulin, Lisa Sinclair, Joel Smith, Melissa Williams, Tracy Williams

- I. Call to Order at 6:33 pm
- II. Pledge
- III. Public Comment
 - A. Vicky Cohen Farmington, teacher in RSU 9, comment regarding interim superintendent and a team approach for leadership
 - B. Matt Wotton Farmington, comment regarding the need for clear expectations for students on school cancellation/storm days
 - C. Nicky Ball teacher, shoutout to the leadership at her school.
- IV. Report of the Chairperson
 - A. Updates
 - 1. Committee meetings will be next Tuesday, please email any questions to the board chair.
 - B. Good news stories from Board/Administrator
 - 1. Nancy Allen Adult Ed Director, reported on the updates to the older portable and the work being accomplished.
 - 2. Debbie Smith messaged staff, and reported the positive responses.
 - 3. Monique Poulin principal at MBC, gave a shout out to the graduation committee.
 - 4. Laura Columbia director of curriculum, reported on all of the good work the nursing team is doing to help keep our kids safe and in school.
 - 5. Chad Brackett shared that an MBC student, Mason Biello was chosen as a kicker to go to the national conference.
- V. Superintendent's Report Tina Meserve
 - A. New Hires Transfers Resignations
- VI. Presentations
 - A. Year to Date Financial Report (July Nov 2020) Kris Pottle
 - B. Winter Sports Update Chad Brackett/Laura Columbia/Tina Meserve

VII. Consent Agenda

- A. Minutes from November 24, 2020
- B. Minutes from December 1, 2020

Motion to approve consent agenda	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 13:0:0 (814:0:0)	Motion: Lisa Laflin Seconded: Scott Erb Motion: Passed
----------------------------------	--	--

^{*}Betsy Hyde was unable to vote due to internet connectivity.

VIII. Committee Reports

- 1. Operations none
- 2. Personnel & Finance none
- 3. Educational Policy none
- 4. Drop-out Prevention none

IX. New Business

A. Winter Sports

Motion to move forward with the Winter Sports season as proposed by the Maine Principals' Association (MPA)	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Betsy Hyde Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 14:0:0 (843:0:0)	Motion: Jeff Harris Seconded: Debbie Smith Motion: Passed
--	--	---

No discussion

B. JJJ-R/J.H.-Sports Physical Requirements

Motion to grant a one-year waiver to the student athlete physical requirement due to COVID-19.	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney	Motion: Kirk Doyle Seconded: Craig Stickney Motion: Passed
--	--	--

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 13:0:0 (814:0:0)	
voto: 10.0.0 (011.0.0)	

^{*}Betsy Hyde was unable to vote due to internet connectivity. No discussion

C. JJIC-Eligibility Requirements: Extra- and Co-Curricular Participation

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Motion to approve Motion: Doug Dunlap Seconded: Scott Erb modifications to the eligibility Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Motion: Passed requirements for extra- and Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, co-curricular participation for Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, the second quarter as Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie proposed by the administration. Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 13:0:0 (814:0:0)

X. Executive Session

Motion to enter executive session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A §405(6)(A) Discussion or consideration of the employment, appointment, assignment, duties, promotion, demotion, compensation, evaluation, disciplining, resignation or dismissal of an individual or group of public officials, appointees or employees of the body or agency

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris,
Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair,
Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins,
Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie
Smith, Craig Stickney

Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 13:0:0 (814:0:0)

Motion: Jeff Harris

Seconded: Jesse Sillanpaa

Motion: Passed

Entered Executive Session: 7:22 pm

Exited Executive Session: 8:16pm

Motion to authorize the board chair to negotiate with the candidate for the interim

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris,

Motion: Jeff Harris Seconded: Craig Stickney

Motion:

^{*}Betsy Hyde was unable to vote due to internet connectivity. No discussion

^{*}Betsy Hyde was unable to vote due to internet connectivity.

superintendent position in accordance with the terms discussed in the executive session	Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 13:0:0 (814:0:0)	
---	--	--

^{*}Betsy Hyde was unable to vote due to internet connectivity.

XI. Adjourn

Angie LeClair motioned to adjourn with no objection. Motion passed.

Adjourn: 8:19 pm

NEXT SCHEDULED MEETINGS

Dec. 15, 2020 - 6:30pm - Location TBD Jan. 12, 2021 - 6:30pm - Location TBD Jan. 26, 2021 - 6:30pm - Location TBD

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

Operations - Dec. 15, 2020 - 5:00pm - Location TBD Personnel & Finance - Dec. 15, 2020 - 5:45pm - Location TBD Educational Policy - Dec. 15, 2020 - 7:00pm - Location TBD