# Mt. Blue Regional School District Board of Directors Minutes

**DATE: May 19, 2020** 

Time: 6:30pm Zoom Meeting

**In attendance:** Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa (arrived at 7:10), J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Olivia Schanck, Riley Drummond, Whitney Fraser, Alejandro Magdelano

**Also present:** Monique Poulin, James Black, Keith Acedo, Lisa Sinclair, Melissa Williams, Andy Hutchins, Bill Greenlaw, Richard Joseph, Katie Duchesne, Todd Demmons, Joel Smith, John Jones, Cynthia Bernstein, Laura Columbia, Kris Pottle, Chad Brackett, Darcy Dunphy, Ray Therrien, Nichole Goodspeed, Tracy Williams

- I. Call to Order 6:34
- II. Pledge
- III. Public Comment
  - A. Vicky Cohen: responded to a statistic regarding internet for grades K-5.
  - B. Doug Hodum: representing the union, spoke against assistant superintendent.
  - C. Tom Saviello: reminded letters sent from the town, and concern of assistant superintendent, and the budget process.
- IV. Report of the Chairperson
  - A. Additional dates for negotiation have been set.
- V. Good news stories from Board/Administrator
  - A. Laura Columbia reported a high return for surveys that were recently given...
  - B. Kirk Doyle shared the positive experience of hosting a foreign exchange student.
  - C. Cherieann Harrison reported on the MBC Facebook page, highlighting seniors.
  - D. Doug Dunlap shared the signs that are recognizing the 2020 graduates.
  - E. Monique Poulin spoke on recognizing seniors. Dan Ryder and Karri Dwyer organized the recognition of seniors and planned shoutouts to all MBC students.
- VI. Superintendent's Report-Tina Meserve
  - A. No new report
- VII. Presentations-no presentations
- VIII. Consent Agenda
  - A. Board meeting minutes from May 12, 2020

Motion to approve consent agenda  Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunl Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Jeff Hetsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 14:0 (910:0)	Harris, Motion: Passed
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	------------------------

<sup>\*</sup>Lisa Laflin was not present to vote

# IX. Committee Reports

- 1. Operations-none
- 2. Personnel & Finance-none
- 3. Educational Policy-none
- 4. Drop-out Prevention-none

#### X. New Business

# A. Consideration of 2019-20 school calendar change

	<del>.</del>	
Motion to accept Option 1 for the 2019/2020 school calendar change	Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 16:0 (1001:0)	Motion:Jeff Harris Seconded: Kirk Doyle Motion:

# B. Second reading

#### 1. EEAEAA-A Drug and Alcohol Testing for Van Drivers

Motion to approve	Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann	Motion: Irv Faunce
second reading of	Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap,	Seconded: Kirk Doyle
EEAEAA-A Drug	Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin,	Motion: passed
and Alcohol	Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul,	
Testing for Van	Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse	
Drivers with	Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie	
suggested changes	Smith, Craig Stickney	
	Nays: 0	
	Abstained: 0	
	Vote: 16:0 (1001:0)	

# C. FY 2021 Budget Proposal

Motion to extend the board meeting to 9:15 Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie

Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: Lisa Laflin Abstained: 0 Vote: 15:0 (960:41) Motion: Cherieann

Harrison

Seconded: Angie

LeClair Motion:

Motion to approve the budget that was proposed by the Superintendent to move towards the Board Forum for public feedback Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Dennis O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie

Smith, Nays: Craig Stickney

Abstained: 0

Vote:15:1 (927:74)

Motion: Jesse Sillanpaa Seconded: Cherieann

Harrison

Motion: Passed

Discussion on budget was heard regarding increasing funding from the state, as well as the Success and Innovation Center, ½ Assistant Superintendent, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counselor.

Budget Timeline: Budget Forum on 5/26 and Board Meeting on 5/28

XI. Executive session 1 M.R.S.A. § 405(6)(A) to Consider the Complaint Against an Individual or Public Official

Time entered: 8:52

Motion to enter Executive session 1 M.R.S.A. § 405(6)(A) to Consider the Complaint Against an Individual or Public Official Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann
Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap,
Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris,
Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie
LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse
Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie
Smith, Craig Stickney

Nays: Dennis O'Neil

Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:1 (917:84)

Motion: Angie LeClair Seconded: Cherieann

Harrison

Motion: Passed

Time exited: 9:18

Motion to extend Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Motion: Jesse Sillanpaa the board meeting Harrison, Doug Dunlap, Dennis Seconded: Cherieann to 9:45 O'Neil, Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harrison Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Motion: Passed Sillanpaa, J. Wayne Kinney, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: Kirk Doyle Abstained: 0 Vote: 15:1 (917:84)

Yeas: Carol Coles. Cherieann Motion to enter Motion: Dennis O'Neil Executive session Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Seconded: Angie 1 M.R.S.A. § Irv Faunce, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, LeClair 405(6)(A) to Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie Motion: Passed Consider the LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Complaint Against Sillanpaa, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie an Individual or Smith, Craig Stickney, Dennis O'Neil Public Official Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 16:0 (1001:0)

#### XII. Adjourn: Time 9:59

Motion to adjourn	Yeas: Carol Coles, Cherieann Harrison, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Lisa Laflin, Jeff Harris, Betsey Hyde, Tami Labul, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, J.Wayne Kinney, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Dennis O'Neil Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 14:0 (877:0)	Motion: Dennis O'Neil Seconded: Angie LeClair Motion: Passed
-------------------	-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	-----------------------------------------------------------------------

#### **NEXT SCHEDULED MEETINGS:**

May 26, 2020-6:30 pm Zoom Board Meeting June 9, 2020-6:30pm Zoom Board Meeting

#### **COMMITTEE MEETINGS:**

June 2, 2020-5:00pm-Operations Committee-Zoom Meeting June 2, 2020-6:00pm-Personnel & Finance-Zoom Meeting June 2, 2020-7:00 pm -Educational Policy Committee-Zoom Meeting

<sup>\*</sup>Jesse Sillanpaa and Irv Faunce left the meeting