Mt. Blue Regional School District Board of Directors

Minutes

DATE: September 8, 2020

Place: Zoom Time: 6:30pm

In attendance: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney, Whitney Fraser, and Alejandro Fernandez Snell

Also present: Keith Acedo, Nancy Allen, Cynthia Bernstein, James Black, Chad Brackett, Jeff Brazee, Laura Columbia, Todd Demmons, Katie Duchesne, Nichole Goodspeed, William Greenlaw, Andy Hutchins, John Jones, Richard Joseph, Kris Pottle, Monique Poulin, Lisa Sinclair, Joel Smith, Melissa Williams, Tracy Williams

- I. Call to Order
 - A. 6:32 pm
- II. Pledge
- III. Board Workshop MSMA
 - A. MSMA Powerpoint
 - B. Table of Contents With Handouts
 - C. <u>Draft Social Media Policy</u>
- IV. Public Comment
 - A. Vicky Cohen, teacher, commented on the board workshop and the best thing for the district, in regards to negotiations.
 - B. Meng Hardy, teacher, commented regarding the first day of school and the worry and stress of COVID-19, and negotiations.
 - C. Gwen Doak commented on her overall support for the district, administration, and teachers. Asked for generous consideration in the current contract negotiations.

٧.

Motion to extend public comment by 5 minutes.	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 16:0:0 (1001:0:0)	Motion: Lisa Laflin Seconded: Kirk Doyle Motion: Passed
---	---	---

VI. Report of the Chairperson

A. Updates

- 1. Good news stories from Board / Administrator
 - a) Tracy Williams, principal of WGM School, reported a good first day of school for elementary students.
 - b) Doug Dunlap shared the advancements of broadband internet, and was extremely impressed with the maintenance team of remodeling and refurbishing of equipment and buildings.
 - c) Kirk Doyle shared a positive day at the high school, as a parent and school board member.
 - d) Monique Poulin, principal at MBHS, reported lots of anxiety and nervousness to the start of school, but the day was excellent, and all of the team members who made it all work!
 - e) James Black, principal at MBMS, day went relatively well, some items to work out in regards to remote learning, and a huge shoutout to staff and parents.
 - f) John Jones, Special Education Director, shoutout to the parents who have demonstrated an enormous amount of patience during this time.

VII. Superintendent's Report - Tina Meserve

- A. Updates regarding:
 - 1. Remote learners: 21.5% of our students are remote learners.
 - 2. Hot spots are working great for those who do not have access to the internet. We will be working on anyone who shares a new need.
 - 3. Athletics: RSU 9 is waiting for the MPA (Maine Principals' Association) to release new guidelines. In the interim athletes are working with coaches, and have some restrictions.
 - 4. New hires and resignations were reviewed.

VIII. Presentations: None

Motion to extend the meeting until 9:00pm	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith Nays:Craig Stickney Abstained: 0 Vote: 15:1:0 (927:74:0)	Motion: Cherieann Harrison Seconded: Debbie Smith Motion: Passed
---	---	--

IX. Consent Agenda

A. Minutes from August 25, 2020

Motion to approve consent agenda	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Debbie Smith, Craig Stickney Nays: Josh Robbins, Dennis O'Neil, Jesse Sillanpaa Abstained: 0 Vote: 12:3:0 (762:165:0)	Motion: Kirk Doyle Seconded: Irv Faunce Motion: Passed
----------------------------------	---	--

Cherieann submitted corrections to Laura Columbia regarding name spelling, spelling of Solar Array, and an additional board member absent.

Craig Stickney exited the meeting at 8:28pm

X. Committee Reports

Motion to postpone committee reports to next meeting's agenda.	Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 15:0:0 (927:0:0)	Motion: Jeff Harris Seconded: Carol Coles Motion: Passed
--	--	--

- A. Operations
- B. Personnel & Finance
- C. Educational Policy
- D. Drop-out Prevention

XI. New Business

A. Election of MSBA Delegate

Motion to approve J. Wayne Kinney as the MSBA Delegate for the 2020-21 Fall Conference Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff
Harris, Cherieann
Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J.
Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin,
Angie LeClair, Dennis
O'Neil, Josh Robbins,
Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie

Smith Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (927:0:0)

Motion: Angle LeClair Seconded: Cherieann

Harrison

Motion: Passed

B. Revised 20/21 District Calendar

Motion to approve the Revised 20/21 District Calendar

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff
Harris, Cherieann
Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J.
Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin,
Angie LeClair, Dennis
O'Neil, Josh Robbins,
Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie

Smith Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (927:0:0)

Motion: Irv Faunce

Seconded: Debbie Smith

Motion: Passed

XII. Executive session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A §405(6)(D) Labor Contract discussion for the Teacher's Bargaining Unit.

Motion to enter Executive session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A §405(6)(D) Labor Contract discussion for the Teacher's Bargaining Unit.

Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk
Doyle, Doug Dunlap, Scott
Erb, Irv Faunce, Jeff
Harris, Cherieann
Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J.
Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin,
Angie LeClair, Dennis
O'Neil, Josh Robbins,
Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie

Smith Nays: 0 Abstained: 0

Vote: 15:0:0 (927:0:0)

Motion: Cherieann Harrison Seconded: Jeff Harris

Motion: Passed

Time entered: 8:44 pm

Time exited: 8:57pm

Motion to extend the meeting Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Motion: Cherieann Harrison until 9:45 pm Seconded: Jeff Harris Doyle, Scott Erb, Jeff Motion: Passed Harris, Cherieann Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Dennis O'Neil, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith Nays: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 13:0:0 (769:0:0)

Time entered: 8:59pm

Motion to re-enter Executive Yeas: Carol Coles, Kirk Motion: Cherieann Harrison session pursuant to 1 Seconded: Carol Coles Doyle, Irv Faunce, Jeff M.R.S.A §405(6)(D) Labor Motion: Passed Harris, Cherieann Contract discussion for the Harrison, Betsey Hyde, J. Teacher's Bargaining Unit. Wayne Kinney, Lisa Laflin, Angie LeClair, Josh Robbins, Jesse Sillanpaa, Debbie Smith Navs: 0 Abstained: 0 Vote: 12:0:0 (685:0:0)

XIII. Adjourn

Angie LeClair - This meeting is adjourned without objection.	Yeas: Nays: Abstained: Vote:	Motion: Seconded: Motion:
(no vote required)		

NEXT SCHEDULED MEETINGS

Sept. 22, 2020 - 6:30pm - Location TBD Oct. 13, 2020 - 6:30pm - Location TBD

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

Operations - Oct. 6, 2020 - 5:00pm Personnel & Finance - Oct. 6, 2020 - 6:00pm Educational Policy - Oct 6, 2020 - 7:00pm